Starting Tuesday, drivers will have to buckle up or pay up. Police, deputies and state troopers in Florida will be able to pull drivers over for not wearing a seat belt.
In the past, officers could only write seat belt tickets if they pulled you over for another reason. Florida Highway Patrol Lt. Chris Miller said troopers will write $30 tickets for anyone caught not wearing a belt. He said they won't be giving any warnings.
With court fees, it could range from $93 to $119 depending on the county
The National Highway Safety Administration has estimated the new law will save 124 lives and prevent 1,733 serious injuries in Florida every year.
On Friday, a new law will also force new motorcyclists to take a safety course before they can hit the road.